Unfriended

Neil Fein of  Magnificent Nose is running his third series of flash fiction this week.

My contribution, “Unfriended,” is today’s story. Please check it out and let me know what you think.

(I’ll bet you didn’t even think I knew all those terrible words.)

*************UPDATE**************

Here is a link to another flash fiction piece I wrote for Magnificent Nose, but never posted here. It’s called “The Last of It,” and it is even more depressing than “Unfriended.” Enjoy!

About Julie Goldberg

Julie Goldberg has lived a life entirely too entangled with books. She is a school librarian, former English teacher, compulsive reader, occasional jazz singer and the author of Lily in the Light of Halfmoon. You can email her at perfectwhole@gmail.com and follow her on Twitter @juliegoldberg.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Unfriended

  1. fransiweinstein says:

    Not only do you know those words, it seemed like you said them with great ease. Teasing. This is an incredible story. Not easy to tell in so few words, but much more powerful and moving, I think. It makes it more intense. Difficult subject matter considering your recent loss. Good for you for tackling it.

    • Thanks! Yes, the recent loss did influence the story a little bit. I was thinking about the “last gifts” that the dying leave behind to those they love most, some unexpected and some unintentional.

      • fransiweinstein says:

        Yes. And then there are the everlasting gifts, like all the memories we’re blessed to have. I loved your story. A beautiful message, beautifully written.

  2. DM says:

    yep, I read your “unfriend” twice just now. You hooked me. makes me want to know more of the backdrop. funny thing is, I have “unfriended” a couple of relatively long terms friends myself in the last year..probably why your title hooked me too..not unfriended on facebook but real life….in once case, it was the drama, in the second, the guy was sucking the life out of me.

    • Thanks! The downside of all these great social media tools that help us keep in touch with people we love is that it also keeps us in touch with people we’ve outgrown, or who have outgrown us, and it makes it much more socially complicated just to drift apart naturally. Thanks for reading and commenting!

Leave a Reply

