I Don’t Have Time to Believe in Writer’s Block

Neil Fein and I on a hayride in 1975. I am the diva in ponytails, Neil, the serious young gentleman in profile.

Today’s bonus essay, “I Don’t Have Time to Believe in Writer’s Block,” can be read on Neil Fein’s blog, Magnificent Nose.  My conviction that writer’s block does not exist is matched in fervor by Neil’s belief that cross-posting is bad form, so please click over to read it there, and while you’re there, enjoy posts by Neil Fein, Ceil Kessler, Sara Greco Goas, and other Nosy Authors. Here’s a taste of the essay:

Last night, I finished writing a draft of a chapter that had tormented me for weeks. It’s one of only a handful of chapters I have left to write for which I had no rough drafts, or even scribbled notes. I needed certain things to happen…in the relationship between the two main characters, so I sent them on a hike to a waterfall. They fought me every step of the way, up the trail and back down again. By the end, though, sorry to have put me through so much trouble, they presented me with three peace offerings: a baptism, a sandwich, and a lie, all of which I can certainly use.

Read the rest.

About Julie Goldberg

Julie Goldberg has lived a life entirely too entangled with books. She is a school librarian, former English teacher, compulsive reader, occasional jazz singer and the author of Lily in the Light of Halfmoon. You can email her at perfectwhole@gmail.com and follow her on Twitter @juliegoldberg.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I Don’t Have Time to Believe in Writer’s Block

  1. Pingback: A New Year Every Day | Perfect Whole

Leave a Reply

