“One Lovely Blog”

The lovely Canadian blogger Fransi Weinstein nominated Perfect Whole for something called the “One Lovely Blog” award.

I looked into it, and the award is really more like a magnanimous game than an award, as such. There will be, sadly, no red carpet event at which a starlet rips open an envelope to announce the winner.

It’s new media, darlings. We have to be our own red carpets, our own starlets, and our own envelopes.

So, in the spirit of encouraging one another, since no one else will do it if we don’t, here are the rules of this game and my nominations. 

According to Fransi, the rules are:

1) Thank and link back to the person that nominated you. So, thank you very much, Ms. Fransi Weinstein, of both Three Hundred Sixty-Five and Fransi Weinstein Et Al! And thanks for all your encouragement over the past year.

2) Post the award picture in your post. Done.

3) Tell 7 things about yourself:

  • I can’t fall asleep without reading for at least a few minutes, sometimes up to an hour. That’s why I’ve read so many books.
  • Each Perfect Whole essay takes me a ludicrous number of hours (that I really don’t have) to plan, draft, revise, polish, and otherwise obsess over. The least I’ve ever spent on one is about three hours. The most, more than ten hours.
  • I am horrified by how much time I spend on Facebook, but I don’t know how to stop. “Confession of Love” was no joke. It’s embarrassing. Now, the whole Internet knows.
  • In my fantasy, I earn my living by writing all day and singing jazz standards in a cabaret in the evening. In my fantasy, these are viable methods of earning a living.
  • We have two chickens and a rabbit, but I’m not really an animal person. My husband plays with the chickens as if they were dogs. The children treat the rabbit as if it were their younger sibling who just happens to live in a cage.
  • I hate Frank Sinatra. I love his repertoire, and I love many, many other singers of the same era, but Ol’ Blue Eyes sets my teeth on edge. I don’t understand how he got a reputation as a great song interpreter. To me, he sounds the same, whether he’s singing that’s he’s got the world on a string, or that he won’t dance, don’t ask him, or that he’s got you under his skin. Tony Bennett was robbed.
  • I will stop on the street or in the grocery store or in a diner, or pretty much anywhere, to talk to a baby. Don’t you wonder what they’re thinking? They are eternally fascinating.

4) Nominate 15 other bloggers and notify them of their nomination.

Fifteen seems like a lot. I’ll do fewer, but tell you why these blogs are worth checking out.

  • 135 Journals–A writer who has been keeping a journal for 40 years shares selections from same, plus writing prompts and her wonderfully quirky accounts of her life.
  • Diane Ravitch’s Blog–Ravitch, who served as Secretary of Education in the Reagan Administration, has become our country’s best defender of public schools.
  • The Digital Realist–“Finding that sweet spot between technophile and technophobe.” This is precisely the philosophical space that I inhabit, but Gregg Graham blogs about it, so I don’t have to.
  • Donna Lee Miele, Author–Donna blogs about books, writing, bookselling, and ghostwriting her father’s autobiography.
  • Grist–Grist is more than a blog. It’s a news and culture source for all things related to environmentalism. I learn a lot here.
  • Kristen Lamb’s Blog–Lamb is an author, editor, and speaker, but what I enjoy about her blog is her cheerleading for writers. Lots of good tips and encouragement here.
  • Magnificent Nose–Magnificent Nose is the blogfather of Perfect Whole. Neil Fein and his Nosy Writers discuss cycling, books, writing, editing and culture, and run the occasional flash fiction week. I love the variety and energy on the Nose.
  • PsychoZen–Elena Taurke-Joseph, a psychologist, filmmaker and Zen Buddhist, says, “We heal the world by becoming intimate with our whole selves.”
  • SpeEdChange–Ira Socol proves that some of the best writing and thinking about public education is taking place outside the professional journals and on working teachers’ blogs.
  • TeacherKen’s Page on DailyKos–Ken Bernstein, a recently retired Washington D.C. teacher, is a loud, clear, smart advocate for excellent public education as a matter of social justice.
  • Thieves in the Temple–Alec Mento’s hands-on political action blog. Thieves in the Temple tells you what nefarious deeds are being done in our name, with links to organizations and petitions trying to stop them. I appreciate Alec’s turning over those tables, chasing the moneychangers out.
  • The Wing to Heaven–Despite the name, this is a very smart British educational policy and philosophy blog.
About Julie Goldberg

Julie Goldberg has lived a life entirely too entangled with books. She is a school librarian, former English teacher, compulsive reader, occasional jazz singer and the author of Lily in the Light of Halfmoon. You can email her at perfectwhole@gmail.com and follow her on Twitter @juliegoldberg.
This entry was posted in Criticism, Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to “One Lovely Blog”

  1. fransiweinstein says:

    You really are a wonderful writer. I think I’d enjoy reading your scribbles on a napkin. You’ve taken One Lovely Blog to a whole new level. Great job! Tell me more about the chickens and the rabbit.

  2. Thank you! Ever since I started carrying a notebook with me wherever I go, my napkin-scribbling has declined sharply, although it was an activity I enjoyed when young and intoxicated.

    The truth about the chickens is that other than eating their eggs, and bringing them the occasional treat on the way to the compost bin, I don’t have much to do with them. Their hearts belong to my husband, which is just fine with me. They follow him around the yard like feathered puppies.

    The rabbit likes to chew on shoes. I do not understand this, as it is not typical lapine behavior. Someone needs to explain to this bunny that she is not a dog.

    Thanks again for all your encouragement!

  3. Marge Borchert says:

    Good Morning — I loved reading about the Lovely Blog award!!! I am an elementary principal who is also an avid fan and contributor to the Diane Ravitch blog! I have become extremely frustrated with politics and the decimation of public education. I am an avid outs doors person who feels that “nature heals.” For many years I have wanted to design a Green Classroom for the students in my school. I put the idea out there– and lo and behold, many people came together yesterday to help forge a trail in the woods that are adjacent to my school. A dear friend who works for the non profit Earth Spirit environmental /educational organization helped us mark a trail made by deer. Teachers and their spouses; parents and their children helped yesterday and now we have a viable, manicured trail. It is amazing how “many hands make work light.” This is what education is about– Helping the Mind, Body, and Spirit. I am renewed because we are doing what is best for children inspite of politics. We will use technology and put up a trail cam so children can observe which animals are in the woods at night. We will put up bird feeders and the children who “need a break” from the confines of the classroom will help me fill those bird feeders and keep a count of the birds for Cornell University. My husband and I will continue our nature photography and line the halls of my school with photographs of teachers and students pursuing all aspects of education in consideration of teaching the “whole child.” I WILL NOT succumb to narrowing the curricum due to test preparation for tests I do NOT believe in. It is amazing what hard work and the realization of a dream can do for renewing the spirit. Happening upon your nomination for the Lovely Blog has inspired me to get back to my Cavalier King Charles blog!! Your writing has been an inspiration to me. THANK YOU!!!

    Marge Borchert

    • What a wonderful project! Congratulations on accomplishing it! Kids need the outdoors. They need animals, plants, weather, soil. Even from a purely curricular perspective, leaving out the social, emotional, and spiritual development of direct experiences of the natural world, science is completely abstract and difficult to teach to students who have never seen an ecosystem at work. Brava, Ms. Bochert! And thanks for the kind comments.

  4. Cathy says:

    Congrats girl

    Sent from my iPhone

  5. OGRe says:

    Julie and Franci, I love the idea of being starlets on our own red carpet. I hope I haven’t missed the deadline on this. Things have been topsy turvy of course, and now I want to make a video of the event. I plan to respond (15!!!) on Friday. This is not a chain letter. This is not a chain letter. This is not a chain letter. So maybe not quite 15. Because, as you know, reviewing the sites is fraught with distractor peril.

Leave a Reply

